Wednesday 31st May 2023

Speech Day 2023




On Saturday 27 May, we were blessed with glorious sunshine to accompany our annual Speech Day celebrations, which were attended by The Right Honourable The Lord Mayor of the City of London, Alderman Nicholas Lyons and his party.  The day began with a chapel service after which proceedings moved to the Quad. Second Form (Year 7) pupils Kuife and Aleya proudly presented a bouquet to Fiona Steane, the wife of our Treasurer and Chairman of Council, before the March Past took place, accompanied by the Band.  This was followed by a prize-giving ceremony in Big School, during which Senior Grecian, Maddie, delivered an impressive and engaging oration.

Congratulations to all Grecians (Year 13s) who were awarded prizes. The details of these prizes are:

Grecians’ Academic Prizes

Biology                                                                                                            Cheuk

English                                                                                                            Annabella

French                                                                                                             Daphne

Geography                                                                                                      Abigail

German                                                                                                           William

Greek                                                                                                              Amélie

Latin                                                                                                                Ella

Mandarin                                                                                                         Kinda

Further Mathematics                                                                                      Keishi

Mathematics                                                                                                   Pui

Music                                                                                                              Jacob

Physics                                                                                                           Chun

Spanish                                                                                                           Abigail

Sports Science                                                                                               Jessica

Kitcher Prize for Theology and Philosophy                                              Aaron


Grecians’ Prizes

The Vikki Askew Prize (Community action)                                               Jakob


The Worshipful Company of Needlemakers’ Prize (Art textiles)            Isabella


The Worshipful Company of Carpenters’ Prize (Art)                                    Timur


The Bennett Prize for Debating                                                                        Kyran


The Worshipful Company of Salters’ Prize (Chemistry)                                                        Lila


The Worshipful Company of World Traders’ Prize (Economics)                                    Hugo


The Oliver Hare World Traders’ Company Prize (Commitment to the CH Band)         Jacob


The Worshipful Society of Apothecaries’ Prize (Medical)                                        David


The Barclay Hankin Prize (Design technology)                                                               Joshua


The Cherniavsky Prize (History)                                                                                    Hugo


The Worshipful Company of Carmen’s Prize (All round)                                             David, Chukwunonso, Alfiena, Oluwatimilehin, Ella, Luke


The Susan Mitchell Award for Achievement                                                               Miracle, Madeleine, Iyanuoluwakiitan, Jennifer


The Christ’s Hospital Lodge Bursary (Charity)                                                         Coralie, Aaron


The Maggie Williams Trophy (Sport)                                                                           Jessica


The Holder Trophy (Sport)                                                                                             Alexander


The Lamb Prize for Independent Study (Independent study and EPQ)           Kyran


The Pooley Sword (CCF)                                                                                                 Taylor


The Catherine Morpurgo Theatre Scholarship (Drama)                                                  Coralie


The Dadson Prize (History of art)                                                                         Daphne


The Moyna Gilbertson Prize (Creative art)                                                    Zoe-Gabriella


The Ellen Highly Memorial Award (Girl’s travel)                                                               Matilda


The Irene Pearl Prize (English)                                                                                    Belicia


The Wilcox-Wallis Prize (Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics)         Nathanael


The Worshipful Company of Musicians’ Prize                                                           William


The David Farrington Prize (Academic)                                                                      Akine


The Head Teacher’s Prizes (Leadership)                                                                        Alicia, Charlotte, Emily, Harriet, Omolara


Constantine Prize for Leadership                                                                                    Madeleine, Luke