About CH

Our Governance

Our Governance – The Council of Christ’s Hospital (the Council) is the governing body of the School and Council Members are the trustees of the charity. The Council also acts as trustee for Christ’s Hospital Foundation.

The Council has a membership of 15, up to four of whom are nominated by the Court of Governors; up to four are nominated by the Corporation of London with the remainder nominated by the Council.  The detailed work of the Council is undertaken by a number of Committees.

Current members of the Council are:

Christopher Steane (Old Blue) Chairman of Council and Treasurer. Christopher was appointed to the Council on 1 September 2017.  A retired investment banker, he began his career at Baring Brothers in 1978, and continued when ING Group purchased Barings in 1995. He was appointed Global Head of Lending Services in 2010, and in January 2018 he became the deputy head, of ING Wholesale Banking. He holds an MA and LLB from Cambridge University.

Nick Atkinson (Old Blue) has operated at head of internal audit level within the NHS for the past 10 years, latterly with RSM and prior to 2008 with a boutique NHS agency.  He is Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Jamel Banda is a senior banker and current Head of Treasury at Ghana International Bank PLC, headquartered in the City of London.  He has over 15 years’ experience across global markets, corporate banking and risk, specialising in trading, restructuring and sales.  Jamel has worked with many Government and parastatal institutions, with particular focus on Sub-Saharan Africa.  He is a Governor of the City of London Freemen’s School and a member of the City of London’s Community and Children’s Services Committee.

Nick Bensted-Smith spent more than 30 years as an investment manager.  He is a Justice of the Peace in Kent and also a member of the Court of Common Council in the City of London focussing on Investment, Finance, Education and Law Enforcement. He is a Liveryman and Court Assistant of the Worshipful Company of Loriners, and a Freeman of the Goldsmiths. Nick is Chair of the Investment Committee.

Judy Evans (Old Blue) is a consultant plastic surgeon. She is a trustee for several charities and the first ever female Honorary Secretary of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. Judy is a member of the Education and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committees and of the Nominations and Remuneration Committee.

Marianne Fredericks is a member of the Court of Common Council of the City of London and has been involved in various community activities. Co-founder of “Civilians Remembered” she successfully campaigned for a memorial park on Wapping riverside.  She has a particular interest in education and the performing arts.  She is a member of the Education Committee.

Diana Garnham (Old Blue) was formerly CEO of the Science Council and has worked closely with the science and academic communities for many years. She retains her interests in STEM education and skills and is on the Board of the Construction Industry Training Board as well as a Further Education college group. She has developed a portfolio of roles including governance and strategy consultancy support for not-for-profits. Diana chairs the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee and is a member of the Education Committee and the Campaign Board.

Thomas Garnier is currently Headmaster of Pangbourne College and is also an ISI Team Inspector. He is Chairman of the Education Committee and a member of the Nominations and Remuneration Committee. 

Miriam McKay (Old Blue) is currently Director of Group Communications and Investor Relations, HomeServe plc. She has spent her career working in the City of London and has a wealth of experience in Marketing, Communications, PR and global investment markets. Miriam is a member of the Finance and General Purposes and Investment Committees, and the Campaign Board.

Neil Maidment (Old Blue) is a Non-Executive Director at Lloyd’s of London and Ecclesiastical Insurance Group plc. He has over 35 years experience in the insurance market and was Chief Underwriting Officer of Beazley plc. He is a member of the Audit & Risk and Investment Committees.

Robert Palmer has over 35 years experience in Commercial Property having been Chief Investment Officer at Mayfair Capital where he was responsible for advising both institutional and private clients on commercial real estate throughout the UK. He is also a member of the Investment and Finance & General Purpose Committees.

Pamela Roberts is an award-winning creative producer and the founder and director of Black Oxford Untold Stories. She has extensive experience in governance, strategic vision, diversity, equity, and inclusion, and is currently a council member of Arts Council England, South-East region.  She is a member of the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion and Heritage Committees.

Jenny Williams is a retired teacher.  Her teaching career included twelve years at Christ’s Hospital as Head of Chemistry and, most recently at the British School Muscat, Oman.  She is a member of the Education and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committees and is the Council representative for Health and Safety.

John Yeomans has been a hands on angel investor since 2009, specialising in data and communications businesses. Previously he had a career in telecommunications. He is director/chairman of several growth technology businesses and mentors entrepreneurs. John is Chairman of the Finance and General Purposes Committee.